NEBOSH National General Certificate

Course content

The qualification is divided into three units, each of which is assessed separately:

Management of Health and Safety (NGC1)

  • Health and  safety foundations
  • Policy
  • Organising for health and safety
  • Promoting a positive health and safety culture
  • Risk assessment
  • Principles of control
  • Monitoring review and audit
  • Incident and accident investigation, recording and reporting

Controlling workplace hazards (NGC2)

  • Movement of people -hazards and control
  • Manual and mechanical handling, hazards and control
  • Work equipment hazards and control
  • Electrical hazards and control
  • Fire hazards and control
  • Chemical and biological health, hazards and control
  • Physical and psychological health, hazards and control
  • Construction activities, hazards and control

Health and safety practical application (NGC3)

  • Practical examination 
Units NGC1 and NGC2 are taught units each assessed by a two-hour written examination. Each written examination consists of ten ‘short-answer’ questions and one ‘long-answer’ question. All questions are compulsory.

Unit NGC3 is assessed by a two-hour practical examination. This is held on a date set by the course provider and must be taken within 14 days of a written examination.

Candidates will be awarded a unit certificate for each unit passed. Once a candidate has successfully completes all three units (NGC1, NGC2 and NGC3), the overall qualification parchment will be issued.
Copyright 2004 Paramount Health & Safety Limited | Cancellation Policy | Cookies Policy